Album: Icon IIóRubicon
Artist: Wetton/Downes
2006 Asia Icon Ltd. under exclusive license to Frontiers Records
CD: FR CD 309

John Wetton: voices, basses, classical & acoustic guitars
Geoffrey Downes: keys, vocoder

John Mitchell: guitars
Stece Christey: drums
Hugh McDowell: cello

Anneke van Giersbergen: voice (4, 5)
Katie Jacoby: violin (5, 6)

Produced by John Wetton/Geoffrey Downes
Engineered, mixed and mastered by Rob Aubrey during summer 2006
Sequenced by Steve Rispin
Sleeve and photography by Michael Inns
Management: Martin Darvill, assisted by Valentina Pianezzi

1. The Die is Cast [Wetton/Downes] (6:17)
2. Finger on the Trigger [Wetton/Downes] (4:00)
3. Reflections (Of My Life) [Wetton/Downes] (5:02)
4. To Catch a Thief [Wetton/Downes] (5:37)
5. Tears of Joy [Wetton/Downes/Jobson] (4:49)
6. Shannon [Wetton/Downes] (4:24)
7. The Hanging Tree [Wetton/Downes] (4:17)
8. The Glory of Winning [Wetton/Downes/Palmer-James] (4:12)
9. Whirlpool [Wetton/Downes] (5:28)
10. Rubicon [Wetton/Downes] (6:20)

Notes: (****) A version of (8) previously appeared on John Wetton & Richard Palmer-James' Monkey Business archival compilation. (5) was based on what Wetton has described as the last song he wrote with Eddie Jobson, his bandmate in UK, thus Jobson's co-credit. This was the first Wetton/Downes album released after the two were re-united in Asia: the Wetton/Downes project continued in parallel including a few live dates in Japan in Oct 2006, between legs on the Asia reunion tour. The duo see the two projects as being quite distinct. In a Mar 2006 interview, Downes said, "It's important to point out [...] that the Icon stuff is quite a different approach [...] So this is Icon, this is Asia. There are really two quite different styles we address to each one." This notwithstanding, Wetton/Downes continue to play Asia tunes live: the Oct 2006 set was set: "Pane Bruno" (intro), "Don't Cry", "Go", "Only Time will Tell", "The Die is Cast", "Voice of America", "Paradox/Let Me Go", "Meet Me at Midnight", "The Glory of Winning", "Never in a Million Years", Steve Christey solo, "Days Like These", "Rubicon", "Sole Survivor", "Open Your Eyes", "The Smile has Left Your Eyes", "Heat of the Moment". (HP, 20 May 07)

Return to Home Page