Album: An '80s Metal Tribute to Journey
Artist: various artists
2006 Deadline Music/Cleopatra Records, Inc.
CD: CLP 1635-2

Backing band:
Billy Sherwood: guitars, bass, keyboards, backing vocals (all 1-6)
Lou Molino: drums (1, 2, 4, 6)
Jay Schellen: drums (3, 5)
Kyle Kyle: bass (7-13)
Tracy Swider: guitars (7-13)
Danny Wagner: keyboards (7-13)
Danny Parker: drums (7-13), background vocals (7-13)
Kelly Hansen: background vocals (7-13)

Produced, recorded and mixed by Billy Sherwood at 4Tune's Studio (1-6), Danny Parker (7-13)
Additional engineering by Tracy Swider, Kyle Keiderling and Eric Cassidy (all 7-13)
Mastered by Joe Gastwirt (1-6)

 1. Mickey Thomas: Don't Stop Believin' [Perry/Schon/Cain] (4:15)
 2. Bobby Kimball: Who's Crying Now [Cain/Perry] (5:07)
 3. Kip Winger: Send Her My Love [Cain/Perry] (3:47)
 4. Tommy Shaw: Open Arms [Perry/Cain] (3:20)
 5. Jack Russell: Any Way You Want It [Perry/Schon] (3:08)
 6. Robin McAuley: Faithfully [Cain] (4:29)
 7. Kelly Hansen: Wheel in the Sky [Schon/Valory/Fleischman] (4:18)
 8. John Corabi: Girl Can't Help It [Cain/Perry/Schon] (3:50)
 9. Mark Knight: Only the Young [Cain/Perry/Schon] (4:12)
10. Chaz West: Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin' [Perry] (3:51)
11. Ralph Saenz: Be Good to Yourself [Cain/Perry/Schon] (4:02)
12. Stevie Rachelle: Lights [Perry/Schon] (3:14)
13. Kelly Hansen: Separate Ways [Perry/Cain] (4:54)

Notes: (**) Another tribute album from Billy Sherwood. His half is played quite safe. There are no remarkable elements, perhaps with the exception of his unique take on the trademark guitar part in "Don't Stop Believin'". Overall this is a fine album, and nowhere near so bad as the title would suggest. The second half of the album has no direct Yes connections, except that it features the vocals of Kelly Hansen, a longtime collaborator of Jay Schellen in Hurricane and Unruly Child. (Ray Riethmeier, 10 Nov 06)
Return to Home Page